Nice to meet you

Incidentally, this xkcd was the inspiration for the last post, and for this one.

Hi. My name is Matt Parker. I am a 2nd year Master’s student.

All right, so I got cold feet and took my university’s name out.  I got cold feet about getting dooced.  On the one hand, I’d like to think that any university that would do this to me is a university I don’t want to work for.  Conversely… I’m not sure I know of a university that wouldn’t do that to me.

I admit that this is an act of cowardice, but it greatly reduces my Google-ability.  Here, let me compensate for it by issuing a hearty on-record “fuck you” to SMU, on behalf of both the Phantom Professor and every SMU alumnus, faculty and staff who will have to suffer the shame of being connected to the George W. Bush Presidential Library.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Nice to meet you

  1. 🙂

    Hi Matt. I’m a 2nd year masters student, too.

    Btw, I find it interesting how many times I’ve seen XKCD referenced on sociology blogs. It’s weird for me, because I’m switching careers from the tech world into academia.

    Also, speaking of public “fuck yous”, here’s mine. Funny thing about that: I posted it to a local-to-me meta-blog that has thousands of readers, so within the span of a week I sheepishly watched my traffic climb and climb… It was probably not one of my better decisions, but at the same time I like that I did it.

  2. That’s odd, because I’ve considered leaving academia for the tech world. Although I’d probably go into tech academia – some of these computer scientists are totally kicking our asses at exploring human behavior.

    Your “fuck you” way, way outclasses mine. Rock on.

  3. Heh. Thanks.

    For a guy who’s not in academia but is possibly kicking academia’s ass on the social networking online thing, check out Jon Lebkowski. He rocks.

Leave a Reply

