… fucking sociologists (redux)

After a long hiatus, I have been shamed into posting.  Because I must acknowledge that sociologists pretty much rock.  At least, the ones who play Mario Kart are.

By the power vested in me by a lifetime misspent playing video games, I hereby issue these commendations:

  • Best Trash Talking: Kieran Healy
  • Consistently High Performance In Spite of Using the Damn Wii Wheel: Tiffany
  • Overall Best (I think): Jimi
  • Most Improved: The Freese
  • Sufferer of Most Bullshit: Me
  • Overall Most Awesome: Tina, for organizing it all

I will be avenged – next time, though, I’m checking out a projector so I can actually see what the hell is going on.

Seriously, though, how the hell can you guys drive like that with the Wheel?  I am mystified.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “… fucking sociologists (redux)

  1. Thanks so much, Mad Slave. It was a blast. I would have been much better at the trash talking if I wasn’t using up all my time trying to get to the finish line after you guys were done.

  2. The wii wheel is rough! I definitely need to practice before the next matchup.

  3. tifr1

    Um how do you drive a car?

  4. Pingback: My thumb still hurts « BackStage

  5. Well, I sure as hell don’t drive a car while flying about ten feet behind it, which the perspective you get in MKW. That would be sweet, though… I wonder if I could wire my car to accept steering from the wheel so that I could drive it from anywhere.

    But really, I think what gets me is that there isn’t a mechanical connection to the wheels. With the nunchuck, pushing the stick all the way to the left means you’re turning as hard as you can. With the wheel… I dunno. The violent full-body turns just seem a lot more work than the nunchuk.

  6. tifr1

    I don’t do violent full body turns… though Joe does and it’s really very funny. I simply drift around tight curves and it does the trick quite nicely. I will practice with the nunchuk and see how that goes, but it seems a lot more intuitive to drive with a wheel just as i would a real car.

  7. I think I need to try the wheel and see. Since Mad Slave taught me, and he is a student of the nunchuk, that’s what I used. But, perhaps I would be better at the wheel… or perhaps I just want to think that since I was no good with the nunchuk?

  8. I might have to, as well. I wasn’t very good at drifting when I was using the wheel. Hmm…

    PS – dear scattersurge visitors, please stop breaking my heart by only reading the most frivolous post in my entire blog. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

